Mar 102008
 


Windows XP includes a system restore utility which is capable of rolling your computer back to a pre-defined point in time, removing all changes made to the system since that point. This can be an extremely useful feature for rescuing your PC from viruses or faulty software problems, but it also eats up a large amount of hard drive space.

By default, system restore reserves a whopping 12% of each logical drive for itself. You can considerably reduce the amount of space system restore uses by cutting back on the number of restore points the utility sets for itself, or you can turn the feature off altogether.

Continue reading »

Incoming search terms:

Feb 022008
 


When you turn off System Restore, Windows XP removes the restore points that track changes in Windows. After you turn off System Restore, you can no longer restore Windows XP to an earlier time.

When you turn on System Restore, Windows XP creates restore points to track changes in Windows. After you turn on System Restore, you can restore Windows to the time of the earliest available restore point.
Continue reading »